Monday Morning Coffee – Fast Elevators #in

You traveled all day to get there (Convention or vacation).

Somehow you’ve survived the flight delays, the traffic snarls, and the fatigue that just comes with travel . . . and you have managed to preserve your sanity through frequent short bursts of meditation.

The only thing you want now is a clean and fresh hotel room with a comfortable BED.

As you drag your suitcases towards the check-in counter at the hotel, the clerk notices that you are frazzled and decides to do something nice for you (because the hotel is not full and she can) and warmly welcomes you and gives you the great news that she is going to upgrade your room to a suite on the 9th floor . . . over-looking the OCEAN instead of the 3rd level garden view you had reserved.

What goes through your mind?

Perhaps gratitude and some level of excitement at your good fortune.

It’s what doesn’t go through your mind that might be worth considering,

Like . . .

How fast are the elevators?

and

Are there enough elevators to serve everyone in the hotel?

I’d trade a garden view for an ocean view in a New York Minute if it means I don’t have to spend 1/3 of my time waiting for and riding elevators every time I need something from the room.

At that moment while checking in, there’s not time for checking the speed and availability of the elevators so I exercise some blind faith and agree to the up-grade.

This is a roll of the dice because some hotels have woefully inadequate elevator service . . . while others somehow are able to provide “smart” elevators that always seem to be available on the floor YOU would like to leave and travel quickly and smoothly.

What’s it cost a hotel to equip itself with Fast (and smart) elevators?

What’s the opportunity cost of NOT having fast/smart elevators?

I know that if I were seeking a facility for a large event . . . or the vacation of a lifetime, I probably wouldn’t think much about the elevators until I got there . . . and elevator speed alone could easily make or break the experience.

So . . .

Just as that BP Station in Georgia captured my attention and my business with a simple billboard that said simply: “CLEAN RESTROOMS – EXIT NOW”.

How might the hotel benefit by adding “FAST & SMART Elevators” prominently to the marketing materials?

What’s the “fast elevator” in your business?

Are you bragging about it?

Effective Marketing isn’t just a bunch of yelling at the general public hoping g to catch their attention . . . It’s more about knowing what your “fast elevator” is . . . and bragging about it.

This post was inspired by my family’s recent stay at The Marriott Marco Island, FL where the elevators are indeed FAST . . . and SMART!

I’m just sayin’

Best,

b

Here in Middle Tennessee, I serve the needs to Residential Home Buyers and Sellers impeccably . . . and I’m one of the Vital Few NATIVE NASHVILLIANS who REALLY knows this city 🙂

Leave a comment